27.1 C
Monday, February 6, 2023

Nw: Shafali Verma to manual India at Beneath-19 Females’s T20 World Cup, Richa Ghosh also picked

- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img

Eighteen-yr-primitive opening batter Shafali Verma will lead India on the inaugural Beneath-19 Females’s T20 World Cup in South Africa early next yr. She can be one in all two senior India avid gamers on the match apart from wicketkeeper Richa Ghosh.

Shweta Sehrawat, who is currently main the Beneath-19s in a five-match T20 sequence against a Unique Zealand Females’s development facet in Mumbai, has been named Shafali’s deputy.

In deciding on Shafali and Ghosh, India have faith diverged from the direction taken by England’s selectors, who left senior avid gamers Alice Capsey and Freya Kemp out of their squad for the Beneath-19 match. The switch, on the opposite hand, was as soon as aimed at managing their workloads protecting in thoughts England’s upcoming tour of the West Indies and the senior Females’s T20 World Cup in February next yr. It is miles going to also also mean that Shafali and Ghosh is no longer going to be part of the tri-sequence India’s senior facet performs against South Africa and West Indies in the lead-up to the Females’s T20 World Cup 2023.

Shafali has represented India in 46 T20Is, 21 ODIs and two Tests, while Ghosh has played 25 T20Is and 17 ODIs. Ghosh is 19, however she is eligible to take part in the match since she was as soon as born after the slash-off date of delivery of August 31, 2003.

As adversarial to Shafali and Ghosh, India’s batting can be led by Sehrawat, Gongadi Trisha, Soumya Tiwari and Soniya Mendhiya. Trisha and Tiwari are main the flee-charts in the continuing sequence against the Unique Zealand Females’s development group with 115 and 106 respectively. Within the Females’s Beneath-19 T20 Challenger Trophy, Trisha scored 117 runs – the 2nd-most in the aid of Sehrawat’s 163. Sehrawat also topped the charts in the Quadrangular Females’s Beneath-19 T20 sequence, which also featured Sri Lanka and West Indies.

Mendhiya, treasure captain Shafali, performs for Haryana in the Females’s Beneath-19 circuit and bats in the center declare apart from bowling offspin. She scored 187 runs in six innings of the Females’s Beneath-19 T20 Trophy at a strike charge of 105.05. Within the Quadrangular sequence, she scored 67 at a strike charge of 134 to toddle alongside with four wickets.

Hastily bowlers Titas Sadhu and Hurley Gala will lead the droop attack with Falak Naz and Shabnam MD also in the combination. Sadhu picked up five wickets in the T20 Challenger Trophy and also picked up two wickets in the four matches she played for Bengal in the Senior Females’s T20 Trophy earlier this season. Gala also offers a energy-hitting likelihood to toddle alongside with her snappily bowling.

Punjab’s Mannat Kashyap, who picked up a five-wicket haul in the fourth T20 against the Unique Zealand Females’s development facet, will have faith fellow left-arm spinner Sonam Yadav, offspinner Archana Devi and legspinner Parshavi Chopra for company.

Hrishita Basu can also very successfully be used as the backup wicketkeeper to Ghosh. Curiously, neither Shafali nor Ghosh were part of different Beneath-19 competitions held in the lead-up to the World Cup.

Uttar Pradesh allrounder Shikha Shalot, Kerala bowler Najla CMC and Hyderabad seamer Yashashri have faith been named in the reserves.

India’s Beneath-19s will play five T20s against the South Africa Beneath-19s from December 27 to January 4 in Pretoria. They meet South Africa of their opening match of the World Cup too, on January 14 in Benoni.

India are in Neighborhood D of the Beneath-19 World Cup alongside with South Africa, UAE and Scotland in a match of 16 teams. The high three teams from every of the four teams will progress to the Sizable Six spherical, where teams can be pooled into two teams of six every. The high two teams from every neighborhood will then progress to the semi-finals, which is ready to be played on January 27 in Potchefstroom, followed by the supreme on the identical floor on January 29.

Squad: Shafali Verma (capt), Shweta Sehrawat (vice-capt), Richa Ghosh (wk), G Trisha, Soumya Tiwari, Sonia Mendhiya, Hurley Gala, Hrishita Basu (wk), Sonam Yadav, Mannat Kashyap, Archana Devi, Parshavi Chopra, Titas Sadhu, Falak Naz, Shabnam MD.
Standby avid gamers: Shikha Shalot, Najla CMC, Yashashri


- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img
Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here